Settling in

We have been down here long enough to establish a routine and it is going well.  Sundays are always internet days, we come down to the hotel in Caseres to use the internet and have a few (how many is a few) beers, we talk to family, Mike checks out Facebook and I look for new fish recipes.  Mondays usually end up being cooking days for me since we don’t have to deliver fish, I will make beans for the week since beans take a long time to cook but I have discovered a recipe for black bean humus that takes a short time to eat, chicken broth so the dog will eat her dog food, she has gotten picky down here and will only eat her food if I put chicken broth over it!! and then usually pizza or some other dish that requires a lot of time for dinner.  Mike will work around the house, sanding the windows or working on his grill, he has added a cement platform and plans to put a roof on it so he can cook in the rain.  He has even shoveled out the bottom of my “nica pool” and now with all the sand out it is about a foot deeper 🙂  Tuesdays are a busy day since we have to deliver fish to all our customers in Granada, that is an all day event and we usually get home very late.  Wednesdays we usually go down to visit friends from Canada who are here for another week and have a few drinks (once again, how many is a few?).  Thursdays tend to be another productive day around the house, Fridays more fish deliveries and Saturdays are reserved for the hammock.  It’s a hard life but someone has to do it 🙂  When I think about how crazy my life in the states was, working more hours than I care to count, no time for myself and Mike & I might go days without seeing each other, all I can think is I hope it works out down here because I don’t ever want to go back to that!!!!!  So far each week we manage to make more and spend less money so we are headed in the right direction.  We still haven’t been able to get the Tona truck to stop at our house but we are able to add our order to the beer the hotel buys and get it at wholesale prices, we just have to return the empty bottles every Wednesday and they magically appeared filled on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

